I’m currently working on a new version of MIDItar Hero, mostly just going through and rearranging and improving the interface. I realized there’s no reason for 8 billion separate windows, so I’ve pretty much gone through and condensed everything in a manner that’s actually easier to use. I also added a few new options for both of the guitar modes that deal with the second set of frets on the RB Strat, but haven’t got around to testing them yet.

Before I actually release this version, though, I’d like to know how people use MIDItar Hero… does anybody actually use Easy Mode? How many people use it for the guitar modes, the drum mode, or both? What options would you like to see in MIDItar Hero that would make it more versatile, easier to use, or fun to play? Comment here, or email me or IM me with your suggestions.

11 Responses to

  1. Sam says:

    I really want to use this software, it seems great, but I only have a PS3 LP and want to use it on a Mac. It looks like the only option for the PS3 LP is to use it on Windows. Is there any way to support it for Mac also?
    Also, my friend owns the Wii RB Drums and I want to test them, but I haven’t gotten a chance yet. However, there doesn’t seem to be an option for them. Are you just supposed to pick one of the Wii options and choose drum mode?
    Keep up the good work!

    • bwestplaysdrums says:

      So far you’re the only person who asked me about the PS3 LP + Mac combo, so that’s why I don’t have an option for it yet. haha
      However, If you choose Custom Config as your control option, you can figure out the configuration yourself using the instructions in the window that pops up. In fact, if you wouldn’t mind emailing me the values if you get it figured out, I could add it as an selectable option in the OS/Platform menu.
      The Wii RB Drums have the same configuration as the Wii RB Strat, so yes, just choose the Wii RB Strat option and then Drum Mode.
      I should make that more clear in the next version… thanks for pointing it out.

  2. Sam says:

    Oh, that’s great, thanks! I’ll definitely do that!

  3. Orbit says:

    Love your work, but I’m hanging out for Wii GHWT drum support. Someone has figured out the incoming data – http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wiimote/Extension_Controllers#Guitar_Hero_World_Tour_.28Wii.29_Drums – any chance of future support?

    • bwestplaysdrums says:

      I don’t have a Wii, let alone the Wii version of GHWT, so I can’t test this… but if a driver exists that can read a Wiimote (or PS3 controller) through Bluetooth as an HID device, than it can be read by MIDItar Hero. Unfortunately the sort of data in that link doesn’t help me much as MH is completely dependent on the “hi” (human interface) object within Max/MSP.

    • bwestplaysdrums says:

      Just did a bit more reading, and it turns out that the Wiimote is a Bluetooth HID device. However, all of the drivers I’ve found (GlovePIE for Windows, Darwiin Remote for OS X) simply map the Wiimote to keyboard keys or mouse movement, which isn’t going to work with MIDItar Hero.

  4. Rock Ben says:

    Hey,
    first of all, awesome job. I really like little tools like this to have fun and stuff.

    I use your application for drum only. I did not try guitar mode, maybe someday. I want to be able to jam with someone just for fun.

    I try the drum mode but wasn’t able to run 2 drum set since I was launching only 1 Max Runtime. I’m going to try again now that I know what to do, but I’m not a big fan of double bass. I really love to pratice in GarageBand with a bass loop in the background.

    Heres the 3 things I like to see in future release:
    – RB2 velocity sensitive support
    – RB2 cymbal support
    – “HiHat mode” (secondary sound when pedal is release)

    not sure if everything is possible, but I’m was tire looking the forum everyday and want to let you know what I was looking for.

    Thanks again

  5. bwestplaysdrums says:

    Thanks for the comments ๐Ÿ™‚
    Velocity support for the RB2 and GH:WT kits will definitely be supported soon. I believe the cymbals are just registered as a separate velocity on the RB2 kit, so I’m not sure if that will be totally possible.
    I’d like to do hi-hat mode but I don’t know if the pedals register an “ON” value as they are held down, or if they just simply trigger the “ON” value quickly when they are pressed. It completely depends on that.

  6. Rock Ben says:

    hey!
    thanks for the reply & info. I’m looking forward the next update with velocity support!

    too bad for the cymbals…there really fun and I feel like I have a complete setup. I wish there’s could be a way to make them functional…like with a dirty trick or something. ๐Ÿ˜›

    For the Hi-Hat mode, I don’t know if it could help but I remember playing with my RB1 kit in GarageBand and when I was recording myself, the “recording line” appear if the pedal was held down and it stop if I release the pedal. Not sure if you know what I mean, but I remember it cus it was bugging me and I was not sure if it was a looping note or something.

    Anyway, I hope thoses last sentences make sense to you!?! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m gonna bring my RB2 & RB1 drums and my mac to friend’s house to jam with him. We both beginners, but I just want to try it and see what fun we will have. Anyway, I will give you some feedback to let you know how it works out.

    thanks again for Miditar Hero

  7. Julio says:

    im having some trouble to use the right cymbal on my ps3 drums set for GH:WT the orange is shown when i use it with logic pro, it shows that ive hit the cymbal but doesnt sen data y actually dont get why is that happenig, it also happens in garage band , and i would like to try the new version of the program, y study music so it s really interesting to me.

    • bwestplaysdrums says:

      Since the PS3 GH:WT kit is unsupported on OS X, I’m assuming you’re using the Custom Controller setup.
      Can you save your Custom Controller preset as a file and send it to me in an email? I’ll add it as a supported controller, and then it should be working.

Leave a Reply

